Me and My Trashy Writing

Yup, I write erotica. I don’t give a rat’s ass if that shocks the world. My stars and garters, what WILL the bridge club say? I write erotica for two huge reasons. One, it sells. Circlet Press has been my most consistent publisher, far more so than more lofty arenas. Two, it’s fun to write. And really, aren’t those the only reasons that matter? If I enjoy it and it sells, then hell, there we are! Especially since with Circlet, I can write the kind of erotica that pleases my heart – romantic, psychological, with science fiction and/or fantasy mixed in. Vampires are old news; give me androids and satyrs!

But I have now reached the difficult part of a project. I have a short story series due in less than 2 weeks and it just might kill me. I had a ridiculously hard time writing the sex scenes in the last two stories. After all, there’s only so many ways you can describe sex. Last night I had something of a breakthrough and actually managed to write both the scenes I was having trouble with. Huzzah! It took me four or five hours, but I did it.

Now I have one more story to do, two stories that need a bit of wrap-up, and editing. My editor, the incomparable Joy Crelin, has been so very kind and sweet, and has not glared at me at all saying “deadline approaching.” She is gifted, that one. I look forward to hearing what she has to say, assuming that I can finish the blasted thing on time. Today I am actually in the negative for word count. I think I’ve deleted about 1000 words – painful stuff. But they were crappy words. They had to go. The press is on; I am babysitting Ben for the rest of the week for my friend Jen (she is moving), my husband is leaving for a vacation with his brothers and father on Friday, today is the last day of school for my kids and my grandmother is dying. So I have a lot less than two weeks to do this. I have three evenings. There’s a possibility I will get some babysitting from a friend next week; we will see if I have the juice left to write anything at the time.

Wait am I supposed to do laundry too? And spin yarn? And look after my animals? And cook? Hope everybody likes mac ‘n’ cheese …

3 Comments

  1. weowls said,

    May 18, 2010 at 12:13 pm

    Pick an evening next week, and I’ll watch the boys for ya. It’s the least I can do. Almost literally.

    • dieweedsdie said,

      May 18, 2010 at 2:02 pm

      I protest; replying to my blog is actually the least you can do. *shit eating grin*

    • dieweedsdie said,

      May 18, 2010 at 8:48 pm

      P.S. You do, of course, know that I pull your leg. And that I would be ever so grateful and happy for you to take the boys for a few hours so I can refuel. Love you, Jen …


Leave a Reply

