Writing and Fluff, Different and Yet the Same

Yesterday I worked on a story for Circlet Press’ urban faeries call for submissions. I’m pleased with it so far. I like the characters (creepy faerie and grouchy college student) and I especially like the setting (graveyard). It’s interesting how little parts of my life work their way into fiction. The graveyard in question is Faulkenberry Cemetery in Groesbeck, TX, where many of my relatives on my mother’s side are buried. We only ever go to Groesbeck for funerals, so it has become The City of the Dead in my mind. In fact, the cemetery, the funeral home, the restaurant we go to after funerals and my family’s old homestead are the only places I know in that town.

I like that cemetery, strangely enough. It is heavily shaded with oaks, pecans and other nice trees. There are forests on two sides and pastures on the other two sides. There are cows in the pasture and a stock tank. The oldest graves are from about 150 years ago. My grandfather, great-grandmother, great aunt and uncle and aunt are all buried there. There may be more. It occurs to me now I don’t know if my other great aunts and uncles are buried there … I’ve got to find that out. I’ve considered buying a plot there just so I can be sure of being buried there too. And then getting a tombstone made and put up there so it can go ahead and weather nicely before I’m actually dead. With a great creepy inscription … going to have to come up with something good.

So it was odd to write a story set in that cemetery, especially a faerie story for Circlet, but it was nice to write in a setting so familiar, with so many associations. In the immortal words of Connor McManus, I’m strangely comfortable with it.

I have been doing a lot of wool processing for the Ravelympics. I’ve washed 5 pounds of Lincoln/Leicester and Blue Faced Leicester wool; dyed, carded and drafted 3 ounces of Pygora; and spun up the rest of my Jacob wool. I’m working on a prayer shawl for Dawn, the director of the boys’ MDO, who has cancer. I just hope I can finish it quickly.

I need to clip the bunny. Need scissors.

Also, I am watching “The Guild” at last. We just started the third season, and I am torn between Felicia Day and Wil Wheaton. They are both so impossibly awesome … How could I possibly choose?

2 Comments

  1. Jen McCown said,

    February 3, 2010 at 6:37 pm

    Luckily, you don’t have to choose! Glad you’ve got the Guild going on…

    And by the way, when you start talking about wool and whatnot, it sounds to me like I sound to you when I say “I wrote a script to defrag over 100 indexes today, and I found about 30 more heaps!” Good times…

  2. dieweedsdie said,

    February 3, 2010 at 6:43 pm

    Oh Jen, just wait until I start talking about lanolin content, lock structure, tags, skirting, crimp, WPI, plying and micron count!


Leave a Reply

