Free Crochet Pattern – Pointless Gloves

I wrote this pattern specifically for some yarn I bought at Yarn Heaven forever ago and had been hoarding. I finally convinced myself that I had to actually use it, that it was doing no one any good sitting in my stash box. But I had to do something worthy of the yarn. Soooo, this Pointless Gloves pattern was born. I think it will be good for using up leftovers in the stash box. I’ve been through the pattern pretty thoroughly, but all the same, if you find an error please let me know and I will correct it.

Pointless Gloves 1

Pointless Gloves 2

Fingering Weight Yarn
Crochet Hook Size C
special stitch trctog: yo 2, insert hook into first trc, draw up a loop, yo and draw through first 2 loops on hook. (Insert hook into next trc, yo and draw up a loop, yo and draw through 2 loops on hook) twice. (Yo and draw through next two loops) twice.

Chain 43, join with slpst to form ring
Round 1-3: ch 2, hdc in each ch, join with 1st slp st, turn
Round 4: ch 3, trc in next 2 hdc, (ch 3, skip next 3 hdc, trc in next 3 hdc) around, ch 3, join, turn
Round 5: ch 6, (trc in next 3 trc, ch 3, skip next 3 ch) around, trc in next 2 trc, join with ch in 3rd st, turn
Round 6: ch 3, trc in next 2 trc, ch 11 for thumb hole, (trc in next 3 trc, ch 3, skip next 3 ch) around, join, turn
Round 7: ch 6, (trc in next 3 trc, ch 3, skip next 3 ch) 5 times, tr in next three trc, ch 3, skip next 4 ch, trc in next 3 ch, ch 3, skip the next 4 ch, trc in next 2 trc, join with ch in 3rd st, turn
Round 8: ch 3, trc in next 2 trc, ch 2, skip next 3 ch, trc in next 3 trc, ch 2, skip next 3 ch, trc in next 3 trc, (ch 3, skip next 3 trc, trc in next 3 trc) around, ch 3, join, turn
Round 9: ch 6, (trc in next 3 trc, ch 3, skip next 3 ch) 5 times, trc in next 3 trc, ch 2, skip next 2 ch, trctog (see special instructions) over next 3 trc, ch 2, skip next 2 ch, trc in next two trc, join in ch in 3rd st, turn
Round 10: ch 3, trc in next 2 trc, ch 3, skip next 5 stitches, (trc in next 3 trc, ch 3) around, join, turn
Round 11: ch 6, (trc in next 3 trc, ch 2, skip next 3 ch, trc in next 3 trc, ch 3, skip next 3 ch) 3 times, trc in next 2 trc, join with ch in 3rd st, turn
Round 12: ch 3, trc in next 2 trc, (ch2, skip next 2 or 3 ch, trc in next 3 trc) around, ch 2, join, turn
Round 13 – 15: hdc in each trc around, join, turn

Thumb: Join yarn anywhere along thumb hole. Round 1-3: Ch 2, work hdc around for a total of about 20 stitches, turn.

5 Comments

  1. Joy said,

    February 27, 2010 at 12:05 am

    I started working this pattern and got to row 6 and am not quite sure what to do since there are no half doubles to work into. The previous row consists of triples. Unless I am doing something wrong. I love the look of the gloves though.

  2. dieweedsdie said,

    February 27, 2010 at 7:32 am

    Hi! I corrected it just a moment ago. It was supposed to say “trc” not “hdc.” Thanks so much for the heads up, and sorry for the typo!

  3. Mel said,

    October 5, 2012 at 7:31 am

    I can’t wait to make these, those look very cute

  4. Myra said,

    February 25, 2013 at 5:51 pm

    Hi, I am only thirteen, so i think they might be too big for me. could you give me a solution to this problem?

  5. kirin said,

    February 25, 2013 at 6:27 pm

    heyy,
    the 4th row doesnt make a lick a sense to me. I asked my mum who is brilliant at crocheting and she didnt get it either. i was wondereing if you could explain it so i can understand it better via email. sorry for the inconvienience.


Leave a Reply

